Poems selected from my book in honor of Women’ s History Month

Standard

exhale-cover

 

 

Fat

Standing from across the store

You stare at me as if you haven’t any

Other place to look at anymore.

You make faces at me in disgust

You make me feel uncomfortable

In every place that I go and

My feelings feel unjust.

In my mind and heart

I’m not a bad person

Just overweight and oversized to be exact

I have needs

I have feelings in fact.

Others like you don’t know what it’s like

Being trapped

Mocked and shuffled to the side

As if we have no place here to coincide.

I’m tired of trying to defended my space

Here on earth

I used to put every bit of strength I had

To fight the snickering

Bickering about me being FAT

For what it was worth.

Realizing it’s a waste of my time and people

Who stare from across the room

Have something deeper than the looks of I

Disturbing their narrow minds.

I found that through this ordeal

That’s had me down

That actually

I am a beautiful individual and

This life has turned me around

To see all the things they don’t

And won’t see.

I am a beautiful individual

Mastered by the creator

Almighty God

He’s helped me in so many ways that

I’ve survived something

Sent from evil

Now I’m okay

I have the

Best care possible because

I am truly blessed.

 

 

3 responses »

  1. Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

  2. Hi !!!! 😉
    I am Piter Kokoniz. oOnly want to tell, that I like your blog very much!
    And want to ask you: will you continue to post in this blog in future?
    Sorry for my bad english:)
    Thank you!
    Piter Kokoniz, from Latvia

Leave a Reply

