Poem of the day

Standard

I know when I was a little girl in elementary school the school library always displayed the book Where The Sidewalk Ends. Ever since I checked out his book at the library I never forgot who he was and still I think about how crazy and funny his poetry was. Then I checked out the other book The Giving Tree it’s something how without realizing it I was interested in poetry and books even back then. Anyway, here is today’s poem by Shel Silverstein I’d suggest checking his books out for your kids they just might enjoy it.

                                                     

Boa Constrictor
BY

Shel Silverstein
 

Oh, I’m being eaten
By a boa constrictor,
A boa constrictor,
A boa constrictor,
I’m being eaten by a boa constrictor,
And I don’t like it–one bit.
Well, what do you know?
It’s nibblin’ my toe.
Oh, gee,
It’s up to my knee.
Oh my,
It’s up to my thigh.
Oh, fiddle,
It’s up to my middle.
Oh, heck,
It’s up to my neck.
Oh, dread,
It’s upmmmmmmmmmmffffffffff . . .

Leave a Reply

